Skip to content

Fr. Louis Tarsitano’s “An Outline of an Anglican Life” again online

January 27, 2014

I can say that Fr. Louis Tarsitano’s eminently pastoral An Outline of An Anglican Life is again available to be read online as a PDF file. (I’ve posted a link to the book from another site before, but am not certain if it is still available there.) This book, intended to be a survey course on the general faith and life of the Anglican Church, has chapters on such topics as the Church, the Doctrine of God, Sin, Salvation and Grace, and other major areas of faith and practice. I’d commend this book to anyone seeking an introductory or refresher text–see what you think.

Note: I had posted an updated link to this, but have now been advised that this is an unauthorized PDF, so I have deleted the link. Sorry about this, but if the PDF is not authorized, I cannot post the link to it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2014 7:46 am

    This is great news, Will. I try to always have a number of copies of the book, which I think is still sold by the REC Publications Society, at hand to give away to church members or inquirers. It’s an outstanding catechetical aid, and I’m glad to see it’s available as a publisher-approved PDF so that more people can have access to it. To God be the glory.

    • January 27, 2014 8:48 am

      The PDF actually DOES say “Used by permission” so I presume this is a legitimate copy. If I hear otherwise I will edit/remove my post. But yes, this is wonderful indeed.

      • January 27, 2014 7:06 pm

        Yes, there is a PDF out there of page proofs of the book. That one should not be shared because royalties from the book go to Fr. Tarsitano’s widow. This PDF of the raw text, I’m told, was created to be freely shared. So my understanding is that you are acting in accordance with the wishes of those who own the rights to the book. Thanks again!

      • January 27, 2014 9:29 pm

        Thank you for telling me that. I appreciate that information a great deal.

  2. Fr. Kenneth Bailey+ permalink
    February 27, 2014 2:43 pm

    Several years ago (about six?) I purchased a large amount of “Outline” books from somewhere, but I was serving at another church and no longer have the information as to where I purchased them.

    I found them to be an incredible resource and would love to have physical copies for my parishioners.

    Do you have a link or number to somewhere I can purchase these other than on Amazon?

    I believe I got them for about $15 each at the time.

    • February 27, 2014 4:23 pm

      Fr. Bailey,

      I certainly agree these are wonderful books and would be great helps for any parishioner. The copies I have seen came from “The Episcopal Recorder” and this is the last order form of which I am aware:

      http://www.rec-nema.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/EpRecForm0513.pdf

      Note, though, that their price is also $15.00. I’d call them or email them at the contact information on the PDF to be sure it is still accurate.

      May God bless you and your ministry.

Leave a Reply

