Skip to content

Another text on the Thirty-Nine Articles: Samuel Wix’s “Scriptural Illustrations of the Thirty-Nine Articles”

July 24, 2014

Tonight I came across a quite interesting text on the Thirty-Nine Articles, this one being Scriptural Illustrations of the Thirty-Nine Articles.  This was compiled and published in 1808 by the Rev. Samuel Wix, who was a High Churchman.  It is quite interesting to me that although he was High Church, even writing elsewhere on desiring to reunite Anglicans and Romans, he also in Scriptural Illustrations of the Thirty-Nine Articles writes about Article XXII in very much what I would call classical Anglican terms.  I’ll add this link to the resource page on the Articles a bit later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2014 6:06 am

    Thanks for pointing to this! I wasn’t aware it was on Google Books and I saved it to the folder I use for Anglican theology.

    • July 24, 2014 7:26 am

      I guess Google’s scanning project is still going on. But thanks for reminding me about providing links to the Google texts…will try to remember that.

Leave a Reply

