Skip to content

The Rev. Paul Williamson: “Why I Objected”

January 31, 2015

From First Things, here is the account of the Rev. Paul Williamson, rector of St. George’s Church Hanworth in the United Kingdom, titled Why I Objected – to the consecration of the first female bishop in the Church of England.  Why did he object?  He tells us:

I have been asked why, on St. Timothy day in York Minster, I stood up to object during the ordination of Libby Lane as the first woman bishop of the Church of England. I am happy to give an answer: I stood out of love for the church for which I have served as a pastor for forty-one years and out of respect for the gospel which it proclaims.

Read the whole thing!  (Hat tip: wyclif on Twitter)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

