Skip to content

Something Different: Árstíðir performs Heyr, himna smiður

October 2, 2016

This is an ethereally beautiful rendition of a 12th century Icelandic hymn, Heyr himna smiður by the group Árstíðir.  This was performed in a church in Vilnius, Lithuania.  Icelandic is quite a beautiful language; if I am not mistaken one could render the title of this hymn “Hear, heavenly smith.”  I will paste a translation of the hymn below that I found on the YouTube page.

Hear, smith of the heavens,

what the poet asks.

May softly come unto me thy mercy.

So I call on thee,

for thou hast created me.

I am thy slave, thou art my Lord.

God, I call on thee to heal me.

Remember me, mild one, (or mild king. This is a pun on the word mildingur).

Most we need thee.

Drive out, O king of suns,

generous and great,

humans’ every sorrow from the city of the heart.

Watch over me, mild one,

Most we need thee,

truly every moment in the world of men.

Send us, son of the virgin,

good causes, all aid is from thee, in my heart.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

