Skip to content

The Rev. Dr. Curtis Crenshaw: Sermons on the Ten Commandments

August 11, 2007

Well, tonight I came across what should be an excellent sermon series on the Ten Commandments, by the Rev. Dr. Curtis Crenshaw of St. Francis’ REC in Texas.  Dr. Crenshaw has thus far had four of these sermons posted to their website:


Fourth Commandment: Lord’s Day, Not Sabbath
Colossians 2:16-17, July 15, 2007

Third Commandment: God’s Holy Name
July 8, 2007, Exodus 20:7; Philippians 2:9-11

Second Commandment: Proper Use of Symbols
July 1, 2007, Exodus 20:4-6 with Romans 1:22-25

First Commandment: Only One God
June 24, 2007, Exodus 20:3

See what you think about these sermons; I think you’ll find Dr. Crenshaw, if you have not already done so, to be a first-rate expositor.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2007 12:46 pm

    I listned to the first sermon. It is very good! As a Presbyterian, I called Sunday the Sabbath, but never really held to the Puritan view of “no work.” Like Dr. C says, Sunday is now a day of celebration, and he even says that a person that does not worship in church is an idolator.

    I still like the name “Sabbath,” though, because to me it carries more authority than the term Lord’s Day. I suppose, though, that we should be careful in using terms that represent modern camps.

  2. August 11, 2007 5:43 pm

    You know, that turned out to be more of a theological problem than I would have ever realized: the distinction between the Puritan view of the Sabbath and the “Continental Reformed” view of the Sabbath. If one looks at the Westminster Larger Catechism and reads it REALLY literally, it is possible to take a quite restrictive view, (as you call it, aptly) the “no work” position.

    I once knew a pastor in the PCA who was what one might call “Truly Reformed” and by the time I lost touch with him he was actually moving towards a position that one should not travel at all on the Lord’s Day, except for a few miles to and from church. To me the logical consequence of taking that view would be that one would wind up emulating some Orthodox Jews who live within walking distance of their places of worship so that they do not have to drive on the Sabbath.

    I guess where I currently am on this issue is that it should be a day of celebration and that we should indeed “not forsake the assembly of believers”, but I can’t adhere to the Puritan view.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.